Posted in books

30 Day Book Challenge // Day 4

Day Four: Book turned into a movie and completely desecrated

Right now, I’m trying to recall books I’ve read that are now films. I know that several films I’ve watched are based upon a book, but whether I’ve actually read those books or not is another question.

I think there are several books where the film version hasn’t quite been up to the same standard. For example, Les Miserables doesn’t cover some of the plotlines that are in the book (a lot of people I know weren’t aware that in the book Gavroche and Eponine are siblings). And The Princess Diaries definitely changes from the book. And the second film of that is just a sequel they decided to produce that uses the same characters. In the books they don’t even get as far as her 21st birthday, the series finishes when she graduates high school (I think that The Princess Diaries films do irritate me a bit, as those books were literally my teenage years. I still love to read them!)

*MAY CONTAIN SPOILERS*

I suppose for me, the main film that I felt didn’t do the book justice is Harry Potter and the Prisoner of Azkaban. As I mentioned in a previous blog post, none of the Harry Potter films are as good as the books, but I feel that the others didn’t miss out as many major plotlines. Although they did miss out Peeves. But the third film is the worst. As a child when only 5 books had been published, Harry Potter and the Prisoner of Azkaban was always my favourite. I loved how we got an insight into the past, and learnt more about Sirius, Remus, James and Peter. But in the film, we never learn who the Marauders are. Something I found was key to the book. Harry’s patronus, where he realises that he did see his Dad that night but not in the way he expects, is because James = Prongs! This is not mentioned in the film. It might be implied, but it is never fully explained as to why James, Sirius and Peter become Animagi.

Seriously, the film spent too long driving through London on the Knight Bus with the stupid talking head.

Leave a Reply

