Posted in books

30 Day Book Challenge // Day 5

Day Five: Your comfort book

I suppose, technically, this should be the Bible. As a Christian, God’s word has the answers, and is still relevant today (a lot of people don’t realise that it is). There are verses in it to help with stress, anxiety, mourning, joy – pretty much everything really – and I know that I should turn to the Bible more if I’m in need of comfort. I often don’t though.

If I’m a feeling a little bit down, when I’m at home, I’ll turn to the books I read as a teenager. These include The Princess Diaries series, The Mediator series,  the majority of other books written by Meg Cabot, and the Mates, Dates… series. They’re all such easy reads and familiar to me, that I can’t help cheering up. Plus, they all have happy endings so at least I don’t have to worry about the end of the book making me upset.

I’m not sure what my favourite comfort book is though. I suppose I’ll frequently read the final The Princess Diaries book, or the final Mediator book. Everything works out for them in the end, and I enjoy reading them. I probably always will. However, I suppose they don’t always help me to resolve the reason behind why I need comforting. Yes, they’ll cheer me up whilst I’m reading them; but they don’t help to resolve the situation. They aren’t really relevant for the situations that I go through.

Whilst I’m at uni, I don’t have all of these books with me, so if I am in need of a comfort book, I will turn to the Bible. It may take me a while to do so, and sometimes I won’t know what verse will help, but praying to God and asking him to help me really does work. I just need to keep having faith that through God, every thing will work out, because I love him.

And we know that for those who love God all things work together for God, for those who are called according to his purpose.

Romans 8:28 ESV

Leave a Reply

