Posted in Personal

A Wonderful Year

I’ve realised that recently, all my blog posts have been about books. And whilst I enjoy reading immensely, I’m aware that not everyone does and that posts just about books could get boring for these people. (I’d like to think that it’d encourage them to read and then they’ll find they love it, but a girl can dream, can’t she?)

So this blog post is not going to be about what I’ve read and what I think about a certain book. It’s going to be probably just as uninteresting to a lot of you, but I don’t care.

Yesterday, Alex and I celebrated our one-year anniversary. (Don’t worry, this post is not going to be overly soppy – I’m rubbish at that). It was also the deadline for my dissertation draft.

The morning started out with both Alex and I making the effort to go to the prayer meeting that the Christian Union holds at the chapel on campus. I’d been once before after them CU weekend away, and I found it really beneficial. I found myself motivated and I was able to get on with work, as well as the rest of my day without feeling too stressed or worried about things. As I know Alex has deadlines for assignments coming up too, I suggested that we both went, give our struggles to God and pray for his guidance and encouragement in our work.

After all, Matthew 19:26 says:Β Jesus looked at them and said, “With man this is impossible, but with God all things are possible.” (NIV)

We then spent until lunch apart. I was working on some more of my draft and Alex was working in the National Library on his assignment. I went and handed my draft in around 12ish and then we met up to open presents. We’d decided on a Β£20 budget as with Christmas coming up, we’re both feeling a bit poor.

20141117_180135The card and gift Alex got me – For my birthday I was bought a charm bracelet where the charms are maps of places (of your choice). My mum bought me one of my hometown, and Alex bought me Aberystwyth as it’s where we go to university (and where we met!)

20141117_225642The card and present I got Alex – yes, I am trying to encourage him to read (I can’t help it!) I do think he’ll enjoy this book though as he is a music geek πŸ™‚

The afternoon was then spent working on assignments (in Alex’s case) or sleeping. I think I’d used all my energy up working on my dissertation that as soon as Alex left, I fell asleep. I didn’t upload my dissertation draft online so I’m still panicking about that a little bit (I don’t know if my tutor will be able to give me feedback), but it was my own fault for falling asleep so I’m just having to wait and see.

We did go out for a meal on Saturday though to celebrate (in advance). Unfortunately, both of us do things on Monday evenings so it wasn’t feasible to go out yesterday evening. Alex took me to Little Italy (an Italian restaurant if some of you hadn’t guessed!) I had no idea where we were going, and Alex had actually managed to bluff his way out of me guessing Little Italy earlier on in the week. We’d been to an Italian before (as a fussy eater, Italian is a safe option – there’s always pizza that I can opt for) but that’s closed down and now been replaced by a Ping-Pong bar. Little Italy was a different atmosphere though. It was so cosy and there was an open fire, the waitresses were so nice – they’d apologise for interrupting our conversation.

20141118_103819Mine and Alex’s food πŸ™‚

I didn’t actually have pizza! I had the broccoli and cheese pasta thingy, which I only managed to eat half of (thankfully, Alex can eat loads so he ate the rest of my food too!) And pudding was yummy! Warm chocolate brownie and cream. I really enjoyed eating there, and I’d certainly recommend going for anyone who lives/visits Aberystwyth.

Thank you Alex for being an amazing boyfriend, my best friend and being able to put up with me for the past year! ❀

Leave a Reply

