Posted in books

30 Day Book Challenge // Day 12

Day Twelve: A book you have wanted to read for a long time but still haven’t.

This one is easy. Tess of the D’Urbervilles. I was in year 8 when the BBC drama of this book came out and I really enjoyed it. My 12-year old self (was I really that young!?) and my friend, Natalie, loved it and loved Eddie Redmayne. We’d go around speaking in Somerset accents and would comment on what had happened. And I always planned to read the book. I even started it (actually I’ve started it several times), but I’ve never managed to finish it. It’s one of those books that I always want to read, but when it comes to it, it’s more challenging than what I’m used to and it won’t be a book I can finish within in a couple of days. So I never bother to finish it.

I’m determined that one day I will read this book from start to finish as I enjoyed the BBC’s adaptation of it and it’d be interesting to see how much the two differ. There are several other books I’ve been meaning to read for a while such as Captain Corelli’s Mandolin, Brighton Rock, Dorian Grey. To be honest, the list of books I want to read seems to increase day by day as I hear about other books people have read, or see an interesting book in Waterstone’s.

That American tourist who got locked in Waterstone’s overnight. I would have loved to be in that situation. So I’d have probably panicked initially, but so long as the lights could switch on, I’d just settle down for the night with a good book. Admittedly, I wouldn’t know where to begin… there are just so many books, and I’d want to read the majority of them. I’d probably skip the non-fiction, but then there’s still so much choice. The classics, the books that were part of series I read as a child but never read, new authors, romances, histories. I just love reading.

I have diverged a little bit though. I think that when third year is over (scary to think that it’ll be finished in less than a year!), I’ll spend time reading some of the books that I’ve always wanted to, without the worry of having assignments to finish or exams to revise for. I suppose I’ll have to keep looking for a job, and I’ll probably keep my part-time job at McDonald’s until I do, but I think I’ll have time to curl up on the sofa and just relax by doing what I love (reading, for those of you hadn’t guessed).

10 Books I’ve Been Meaning To Read For A While But Still Haven’t Gotten Around To:

– Tess of the D’Urbervilles by Thomas Hardy

– Frankenstein by Mary Shelley

– Brighton Rock by Graham Greene

– Captain Corelli’s Mandolin by Louis de Bernieres

– The Picture of Dorian Gray by Oscar Wilde

– 1984 by George Orwell

– Pride and Prejudice by Jane Austen

– Jane Eyre by Charlotte Bronte

– The Notebook by Nicholas Sparks

– Dracula by Bram Stoker

Leave a Reply

