Posted in books

30 Day Book Challenge // Day 14

Day Fourteen: A book that made you cry

The Kite Runner by Khaled Hosseini. I had to read this book the summer between Year 12 and 13 as it was one of the books I would have been studying for English Literature. In the end, I dropped it so it was kind of pointless having read it – but I really did enjoy the book. It was so moving and I felt it was well written. It’s set in Afghanistan and it incorporates parts of the reality that many Afghans faced concerning the Taliban rule.

Although I have cried at other books, I can remember exactly where I was when I cried. As it was the summer holidays, I was on holiday abroad in the south of France. I was reading whilst sunbathing by the pool, and then I was crying. I have no idea what people must have thought of me. After I’d read The Kite Runner  I tried to stick to books that I knew wouldn’t toy with my emotions.

If you haven’t this book, I’d really recommend it. I’m not very clued in about what has been happening in Afghanistan – and it does mention this history throughout the book. I used my Dad in order to understand this – normally, I’d have probably used Wikipedia. I don’t know if you need to have an understanding of the Afghanistan war or not; for me, I like to understand the context in which the setting of the book is in, but you might not 🙂 I found it really interesting, and it’s definitely one I’d read again!

One thought on “30 Day Book Challenge // Day 14

Leave a Reply

