Posted in books

30 Day Book Challenge // Day 17

Day Seventeen: An author you wish people would read more of

Kate Morton. I’m not sure how many people read her books, or whether she’s a big author or not. But I love them.

They tend to be set in both the past and the present. A present day character is often piecing together history that relates to a family member or friend. So whilst they’re discovering what happened in the past, we actually find out what did occur as readers. It’s really interesting trying to piece them together myself. I’m usually rubbish at doing it though. I’d recommend for people to read them.

Some books by Kate Morton:

  • The Secret Keeper
  • The House at Riverton
  • The Forgotten Garden
  • The Distant Hours

I’m not sure if she has written any more currently, but these are the ones I’ve read and I enjoyed all of them – hopefully, there will be more out soon!

7 thoughts on “30 Day Book Challenge // Day 17

  1. I’ve only read two of her books and I bought some of hers just because I had read The Forgotten Garden and loved it. She is an exceptional writer… but you are right, I don’t know that many who read her stuff, but like you I am spreading the word!

    1. I’ve just realised I never responded to this comment! Sorry! I’m glad you’re spreading the word, she’s definitely an author who deserves recognition. I’m on the lookout for books in a similar style and genre to hers… do you know of any? πŸ™‚

  2. I thought of one! Revolution by Jennifer Donnelly. I knew nothing about that book when I picked it up from my library, but I didn’t want to stop reading it after I started. Donnelly doesn’t quite match Morton in style, but it does bridge a past and present life… oh and the book is set in Paris… that’s always fun!

    But yes I adored Revolution and bought a copy as soon as I could, I would definitely recommend looking into it.

Leave a Reply

