Posted in books

30 Day Book Challenge // Day 26

Day Twenty-Six: A book that makes you laugh out loud

A joke book? Um, I don’t really read a lot of books that are comedy. I mean, I suppose there must be aspects to books that make me smile, but I’m not really the laughing out loud kind of girl. I’m more of a slight smile, inwardly laughing person.

The one book I remember being funny though is Tiny Bit Marvellous by Dawn French. That kind of says it all really. After all, I find the Vicar of Dibley funny, so why not a book written by the actress?

Unfortunately, i can’t remember a lot of what happened in the book. I didn’t find the book so enthralling that I couldn’t put it down, and they are the sort of books that stay with me for a long time. Either that, or they’re really awful.

However, I remember enjoying it and after refreshing my memory by reading reviews on Goodreads – literally as I’m writing this – more of the story is coming back to me. I think I found it funny because of the over-exaggeration of the characters. So it seemed like a normal family – admittedly with quirks but don’t all families have quirks? – however, the characters are a bit over-the-top.

Some of the reviews are negative on Goodreads and I suppose I wouldn’t put this book in my Top 10 (to be fair, I don’t think I even have a Top 10 – the list would constantly be changing), it’s probably be near the middle, but I think that every book is probably worth reading. Even if you don’t find it enjoyable, at least you’re able to give your own opinion rather than just reciting someone else’s.

Leave a Reply

