Posted in books

[Delayed] 30 Day Book Challenge // Day 30

Day Thirty: A book you couldn’t put down

So, it’s the final day! I kept going despite the gaps between the last few posts. It’s just been crazy recently, but I’ve finished a challenge and I enjoyed doing it!

I suppose whoever made this challenge (it probably says somewhere in the first blog post for it) thought that this one would be fairly easy to do? Or maybe not? I don’t actually know, but it’s definitely not easy. There’s been so many books where I haven’t been able to put them down, it’s difficult to choose just one. Especially as the more recent books I’ve read are at the forefront of my mind, more so than any books I read last year or the year before.

I suppose, as this may tie-in nicely to the next blog post I’ll do, I have to say Harry Potter and the Half-Blood Prince. I probably experienced this feeling with all of the books but this one is where I first remember it. (Although, when I first read Harry Potter and the Philosopher’s Stone I couldn’t get past the snake bit, and I used to have to skip the chapter with the Deathday party in Harry Potter and the Chamber of Secrets because it creeped me out. I find that kind of strange now… I could cope with all the creepy monsters like basilisks and Aragog *shudders* but not ghosts. I was a slightly weird child).

Mum hadn’t bought three copies of this book (she did for Harry Potter and the Deathly Hallows) so I had to fight for my turn at reading it. I actually read it first because I read the quickest and I had nothing else to do that day (apart from tidy my room, which could wait). I was hooked though, I think that of the later books (4, 5, 6 & 7) the Half-Blood Prince is my favourite. You begin to learn about some of the characters more, and suddenly you see that a lot of things aren’t black-and-white, but there are grey areas (for example, Draco Malfoy).

I haven’t read these books in a while (I’ve been trying to get through some of massive ‘to be read’ pile – there’s not actually a pile though, just a massive list inside my head, a gazillion books on my shelves and however many more on my kindle) but I think I’m going to have to again. I’ve missed them a lot, and I enjoy reading them a lot!

Leave a Reply

