Posted in books

15 Books I Want To Read In 2015

So, I kind of got this idea from Beth, who is my brother’s fiancée, although as an avid reader, it makes sense for me to do a post like this 🙂

I’ve always enjoyed reading, and I want to expand my horizons with the types of books I read. I tend to stick to particular genres, and usually the books are fairly modern (by that I mean that they’re not usually written before I was born).

Currently I’m reading Captain Corelli’s Mandolin by Louis de Bernieres and I’m really enjoying it. I watched the film a couple of years ago, and I always meant to read the book – and now I’m finally getting round to it. I find it slower reading that a lot of other books I’ve read, but I think that’s also because I’m so busy at the moment, I don’t have the time to just sit and read all day (unfortunately!)

So, on to the list:

  1. Dracula by Bram Stoker I was supposed to read this for my A-Level English Literature, however, I dropped it before I ever actually started. It’s a shame because I really liked the concepts and themes we would have been covering in Year 13, but unfortunately, Year 12 had been pretty boring and I decided I’d rather keep up French instead. This book has always appealed to me, but even when I was going through my ‘I love vampire books’ stage, I never read it. Hopefully, 2015 will change that.
  2. Brighton Rock by Graham Greene Mum suggested this one to me a few years ago (when I was about to start A-Level English Literature – it had been on the long list of books, that we could choose a few from, to read over the summer). I’d like to read this one as well as it’s based around true events that occurred. Plus, Charles Sabini (the real-life version of Pinkie – I think!) is related to me somehow. I think he is the brother of some great-great grandma or something like that.
  3. The White Princess by Philippa Gregory I read The White Queen last year, however, I’d been bought that and the 3rd installment of the series initially so never progressed any further. I’d originally seen the BBC Drama which made me interested in the books, and it’s a part of English history that I’ve not really learnt much about (school always seemed to focus on the Tudors and events later than that). I now have all the books, so I hope to read all of them next year but I figured I’d just put the last installment down.
  4. Tess of the D’Urbervilles by Thomas Hardy I’ve mentioned this a couple of times before I think. I watched the BBC Drama back when I was 12 and started to read the book then. I never finished it. I’ve picked it up to read a couple more times, but I’ve never actually made it to the part when she goes to live with her rich relatives. I think I just find the start quite slow, but I’m determined to read it this next year.
  5. The Host by Stephenie Meyer I know I slate Twilight all the time, but I heard that The Host is different. Plus, I’ve had this book since I first started reading Twilight in year 8, so it’s probably about time I read it. Plus, I’d like to see the film (it’s got Max Irons in and since seeing The White Queen I would love to see him act in something else) but I don’t want to until I’ve read the book.
  6. Watership Down by Richard Adams I started this book when I was 7. I think I managed to get halfway through, but I found the way it was written very difficult to read. Even as a 7 year old, I didn’t want to know all about grass and vivid descriptions of carrots or whatever else rabbits think about. I’d like to read it though, so I can say I have. And also to finish something that I started 13 years ago.
  7. Gone Girl by Gillian Flynn I’ve heard lots of great things about this book and I’d like to read it so I can see what it’s all about. Plus it’s a film? And once again, I’d like to read the book before I see it.
  8. Tom’s Midnight Garden by Philippa Pearce I’ve seen the film for this (and haven’t read the book! I know!) and I really enjoyed it. I think I attempted the book once, but I found it confusing. Having seen the film though, I think that I might find it easier to understand (plus, being an adult now might help too).
  9. Northern Lights by Philip Pullman I suppose if I read this, I might also read the others in the series. I’m interested to see what I make of these books from what I’ve heard about them, and from my own Christian perspective.
  10. Pride and Prejudice by Jane Austen I feel like I need to read some Austen. I haven’t read any. Ever. (Well, apart from the time I attempted to read this book last year). Hopefully, having this list of books will give me some incentive to read it and finish it.
  11. The Pillars of the Earth by Ken Follett This book is probably going to be unlike anything I’ve read before. So it’ll be interesting to see whether I enjoy it or not. I also am aware that there is a TV adaptation of this which features Eddie Redmayne. Not that he was ever the reason for this book making it on to my ‘To read’ list in the first place.
  12. The Hundred Year-Old Man who Climbed out of the Window and Disappeared by Jonas Jonasson The name just appeals to me. My parents downloaded it on to our kindle account (I love sharing with my parents, it means I get all of their books too), so clearly one of them had an interest in it too. But the name! It just sounds interesting. I want to know why the hundred year-old man climbed out of the window.
  13. Citadel by Kate Mosse This also includes the previous novel called Sepulchre. I read the first book Labyrinth after I’d seen the TV adaptation (this time, I watched it because it had Tom Felton in. I can never resist him, even as a teeny tiny, adorable Draco Malfoy in the first few Harry Potter films). I really enjoyed the book though and found it really interesting – I’d also love to visit Carcassonne. I mean, look at this picture! It looks so lovely and amazing!download
  14. The Three Musketeers by Alexandre Dumas The film. The TV adaptation. Both have made me want to actually read the book and see how it was actually written. It just sounds like it would be a really good book if both the film and TV industry have made versions of it.
  15. A Christmas Carol / Great Expectations by Charles Dickens I couldn’t decide between the two as to which one I should include on my list. I love the 2001 version of A Christmas Carol where you’ve got the cartoon mice, and I’ve always wanted to read it. Great Expectations is just one I’ve been meaning to read all the way through (I can’t remember if I have) since having to do it at school. So they can both be on my list.

There are so many more books though. My list could go on forever and ever. I have a gazillion unread books in book form, and just as many on my kindle. This coming year, I hope to get back into reading again and at least acknowledge which books I’ve read, and which I haven’t. Any suggestions of other books to read will be welcome! I’ll just add them to my never-ending list!

2 thoughts on “15 Books I Want To Read In 2015

  1. Pillars of the Earth is a brilliant book! Amazing TV adaptation too. I’ve had the sequel, world without end, sitting on my bookshelf for over a year now, I really want to get around to reading it!

Leave a Reply

