Posted in Top 10 Tuesday

Top Ten Tuesday #6: Ways To Procrastinate When You Should Be Doing Your Dissertation

So this one doesn’t necessarily have to be your dissertation. It could be another essay, assignment, homework or even revision.

  1. Reading – I like reading. I had to make sure I’d finished Gone Girl before I started doing my work today, because I just didn’t want to put it down. I’m trying to resist the urge to start another book because I know I’ll just get distracted.
  2. Writing a blog post – This is clearly not me procrastinating. Note the sarcasm there. Blogging has been a bit hit and miss recently as my dissertation deadline approaches (27th Feb!) but I sometimes can’t help but procrastinate.
  3. Tidying my room – My room isn’t even that messy, but I’ll find something to do just to put off work. Even if it’s just rearranging things.
  4. Facebook – The dreaded facebook. I don’t have it open when I’m working, but that doesn’t stop me checking it on my phone. And then I check it on my computer just to see if there is anything more interesting than what I’ve just looked at.
  5. Baking – I’ve done quite a bit of baking since the move into Penglais Farm, and I will admit that it’s sometimes just to stop having to do work.
  6. Doing other assignments – This is strange I know. But unfortunately, my dissertation isn’t the only thing I have to hand in this semester, so I procrastinate by doing the easier things first, even if they don’t have to be in for a while.
  7. Sleeping – I like sleeping. And working pretty much non-stop in the morning makes me sleepy. So by the afternoon, I feel completely drained and have to have a little nap. Sometimes the nap goes on for a bit longer than anticipated, and I’ve wasted my afternoon sleeping.
  8. Watching a film/TV programme – This usually happens if Alex has come round for lunch, and then I can’t be bothered to start working again. So we catch up on The Musketeers or Waterloo Road.
  9. Lectures – Can this count? Sometimes, I don’t bother to start work because I know I have a lecture in a couple of hours and I don’t want to have to keep checkingt the time. I think this is a valid procrastination technique.
  10. Doing absolutely nothing – Sometimes I just lie on my bed and do nothing. Or in my bed. It depends how cold I am. This isn’t my favourite though as I actually like to be doing something, so I can feel like I’ve accomplished something.
Leave a Reply

