Posted in Personal

Life After Uni

My third and final year at Aberystwyth University is drawing to a close. As I don’t have any exams, I have three assignments to submit by the 1st May, and then I’m finished. No more geography degree. Unless something goes really badly, and I end up retaking a year. But fingers crossed that won’t happen!

Problem is, I have no idea what I’m doing after uni. And I don’t like it. I’ve always been the sort of person who likes planning and organising, so not knowing the answer to the ‘What Next?’ question is scary.

This isn’t going to be a post about how I can’t seem to get on to any graduate schemes, or the such. I’m not really sure why I’m writing it. I guess just to let others know, who are in the same situation, that it’s okay.

My ideal situation would be to get a job, doing something I enjoy, locally (by that, I mean no more than an hour’s commute away!) so that I can live with my parents initially and save money. But, I am aware that this may not happen. Or at least, not all of those aspects.

As a Christian, I know that God has a plan for me. I’ve probably mentioned this on a previous blog post. But it’s difficult putting all my faith and trust in Him, when I’m someone who likes to know what they’re doing. I do have faith that everything will work out, and that even if I don’t end up doing something great to start with, it’ll help me get to where God wants me to go.

My dissertation supervisor (now just my tutor?) told me (and her other tutees) not to worry too much. After she had done her PhD, she worked in a bike shop for 6 months. This does makes me feel slightly better, as I’ve only done an undergrad degree!

I’m aware the job market is tough, and so I shall still continue to put my all into applying for things and just hope that one job is just meant to be!

To everyone who is in the same situation as me – don’t worry! It won’t help at all, and just try to enjoy the last few weeks at university before heading off into the big wide world!

Leave a Reply

