Posted in Personal

Dyfi Osprey Project

Wednesday morning, I had a fieldtrip for my Dynamic Biogeography module to the Dyfi Osprey Project. I wasn’t sure really sure what to expect from it, especially as I had an assignment to complete still, but I found it really interesting and it was nice to get out of Aber! As much as I love Aber, unless you have a car, it’s often quite hard to leave on day trips!

Once we’d arrived we had a brief introduction and then we headed towards the observatory. Whilst the osprey nest is not actually in this nature reserve, but on the other side of the railway, they have telescopes set up so that you can look at them. Monty and Glesni, the breeding pair, currently have 3 eggs that will hatch towards the end of May.

20150429_111142
I love this picture, purely because it looks like a planet from a distance. But, this was taken down the telescope. On the perch you can see Glesni, the female osprey.

On the way to the observatory, the lady Kim told us about some of the other things that they did. During the summer months they have two water buffalo that graze on some of the land near to the car park! Unfortunately, they weren’t there when I went, but they’d have certainly been interesting to see!

20150429_110544
This picture was purely for my entertainment. ‘Gog’ is a term used to describe people from North Wales, and as that is where my fiance is from, I feel like I can call him a cuckoo now!

Kim also told us a bit about the migratory patterns of ospreys. Over the winter they spend their time in the Senegal area of Africa where they can find plenty of fish and water. The project used to track the ospreys, however, it’s really expensive. The tracker alone can cost around £1000! Some of the maps showing the routes that the ospreys took were interesting though. Although Monty, Glesni and their chicks leave Wales over the winter, they don’t leave together and they all take slightly different routes.

20150429_113002
I didn’t realise how big ospreys were until I saw this. I think the wing span is around 180cm! That’s taller than me!

I’d recommend a visit, especially if you’re interested in wildlife. I initially didn’t think it was going to be anything much, but it gave me an insight into a bird that is endangered. In the UK, there are only around 250 breeding pairs!

One thought on “Dyfi Osprey Project

Leave a Reply

